How much a Year Can Change You!

“For I now the plans I have for you, declares the LORD, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.” Jeremiah 29:11 (ESV)


Have you ever felt like your life is a roller coaster? One day, you are up and feeling good and the next you are down in the dumps. For me, this previous year has been like that. It was one year ago today, that I came out and said I was gay, but in a matter of a few months God changed that all and I couldn’t be happier.

I was living a life a sin and despair, doing what I wanted and having the time of my life. I was working all the time, quit going to church and thought I had the world wrapped around my finger. Over last summer I would get visit at work from a couple of my friends who would check up on me to see how I was doing. I am forever gratefully that they cared for me rather I was living in sin or not. Then a few times I would go to lunch with our pastor. I made the decision to try church out again in August of 2014; I didn’t really want to go because I was ready to deal with all the rumors. But I did and it was okay. A couple weeks after being back at church, I had lunch with our pastor again (yes we like food); and one thing in particular I remember him saying was you have a calling on your life and you wouldn’t went to CBC and gone through all this for no reason. That changed me right there, a few weeks later I gave my heart and life back to God and got baptized.

Still during this time I was working and making good money doing it, but I knew God was calling me to get out of there. I had another job lined up and gave my 2 weeks notice after 5 years of working and then when it came closer for me to start the other job, I felt like God was saying no. I was like okay, if that what you want, then okay. I had this saying during the whole time and still say it, whatever you have for me God, whatever your will let it be. So, I got a different job, that I particularly didn’t want but done it and then in December our life changed when we were in the car accident. But God seen us through that.

Long story short is, in a matter of a year, I have come from professing I was gay, to being a Godly man and knowing that was a lie from Satan. I have applied to go to JRLC in Springfield to become the leader God wants me to be and know that His plan for me is way better then my plan.

Leave a Reply

